Rasch X is a series of mutational performances based upon two fundamental materials: Robert Schumann’s Kreisleriana op. 16 (1838), and Roland Barthes's essays on the music of Schumann, particularly focusing on ‘Rasch’ (1979), a text exclusively dedicated to Schumann’s Kreisleriana. To these materials other components may be added for every single particular version: visual elements (pictures, videos), other texts, or further aural elements (recordings or live-electronics).

Rasch X generates an intricate network of aesthetic-epistemic cross-references, through which the listener has the freedom to focus on different layers of perception: be it on the music, on the texts being projected or read, on the images, or on the voices. Situated beyond ‘interpretation’, ‘hermeneutics’, and ‘aesthetics’ the series Raschx is part of a wider research on what might be labelled as experimental performance practices—
practices that productively deviate from conventional (repetitive) performative strategies and that lend the audience to think during the performative moment, transforming familiar artistic objects into objects for thought. 

R A S C H x :    S C H U M A N N ' S   S O M A T H E M E S

Paulo de Assis | concept, piano, audio and video projection, presentation


Juan Parra C. | audio and video projection, live electronics

Lucia D'Errico | audio and video projection, graphics

Further collaborators:

Heloisa Amaral | turntable

Bill Brooks | voice
Darla Crispin | voice

Einar Torfi Einarsson | composition, graphics and installation

Bob Gilmore | voice

Jessica Kelly | voice

Catherine Laws | voice

Bobby Mitchell | piano

Marlene Monteiro Freitas | turntable

Gerhard Nierhaus | composition and video

Jan Schacher | audio and video projection, live electronics and vocal performance